Perspective

Technically this isn’t a villanelle:

Some people cannot feel.
I have never loved her.
Sometimes it’s unreal.

Impassioned, filled with zeal,
I come close to her and whisper
That I have never loved her.

Disgust is very clear
On her face; it’s softer.
Sometimes it’s unreal.

It’s harder to conceal
On this day than ever
That I have never loved her.

Her freckled face is near,
Her warmness and her shiver.
Sometimes it’s unreal.

She sheds a lonesome tear,
And I almost whimper.
I have never loved her,
Sometimes that’s not real.

 

Leave a Reply

