Villanelle for my sweet desire

 

If not, then what? I have forever searched

for love, I’ve looked inside and looked again,

but I have found not one thing to be spared

 

I look back on so many beds I’ve shared

with maidens, but my heart loveless remains.

If not then, when? I have forever searched

 

for beauty and for grace, and I’ve observed

that if by grace of God I do attain

that goal I’ll find not one thing to be spared.

 

If Earth and sunshine have for me reserved

a destined bride, then I proudly abstain.

It’s not for that that I’ve forever searched.

 

I have in mind a few words to be heard,

but not words that by magic be obtained.

Of those I have not one thing to be spared

 

So go on son speak of a bard who’s scared,

of his own poetry and go on painter paint.

For, God my witness, I’ve forever searched,

but I have found not one thing I deserved.

Leave a Reply

